Traveler’s Spotlight – Amber & Jaime’s OBX Takeover

Lemme tell you what’s up… VACATION SEASON!  Yep – it is officially upon us and so many people are flocking to beaches & vacation destinations to soak up the sun and welcome the warm temperatures. It’s the time for long days, long weekends, and long road trips. I, for one, am super excited to see this time of year get here. Jaime and I kicked it off right with a day trip to the Outer Banks of North Carolina, affectionately called the OBX!

The Outer Banks, as I’m sure most of you know, is a very popular vacation destination. However, I call it home.  I was born in Kitty Hawk, NC & my family is from Hatteras Island – dating all the way back to the Lost Colony! Some say that saltwater runs in our blood, that there’s sand in our DNA, and that flip flops are the only appropriate form of shoe, when we’re not barefoot. I fully believe all of those things!! I’m a beach girl – through & through.

So, when I first came on board here at Feelgoodz I knew we had to have a presence on the OBX.  And I knew exactly which store I wanted - my retail Alma Mater, Kitty Hawk Kites.  I started working at the Nags Head store, across from Jockey’s Ridge, when I was 19 years old. I eventually worked my way up to Assistant Manager and made some of the most long-lasting relationships of my life.  The store manager, Salina, will always hold a special place in my heart! (and no matter what she says – she loves me, too!)  And of course, the hilariously wonderful, Heather!  We always made each other laugh and always had a good time. There’s John, SE, Sandra, Rachel, Peter, Doug, etc. etc. etc.  Now that Feelgoodz will be in Kitty Hawk Kites & Kitty Hawk Surf Co., I could not be more thrilled to be working with this wonderful family again!

Last week, Jaime & I put in a 10 hour day to drive down to the OBX & do a presentation for the Manager’s Spring Kick-off! We wanted to make sure we told everyone the mission of Feelgoodz, what drives us, and all the reasons that our flops feel so good.  We got everyone super excited for the season and for Feelgoodz. It was a great day of showing Jaime around my old stomping grounds & getting to see so many familiar faces supporting me in this journey with Feelgoodz! If you’re vacationing on the Outer Banks this year, make sure you stop by one of the Kitty Hawk Kites stores & Kitty Hawk Surf Co. and check out their awesome custom displays & collection of shoes. You might even see me & some other Feelgooderz around at their events!!

Enjoy your vacation!

Amber

A typical Sunday at Oregon Inlet.

A typical Sunday at Oregon Inlet.

Hanging out at the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse.

Hanging out at the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse.

If the beach is too crowded, go to the sound!

If the beach is too crowded, go to the sound!

One thought on “Traveler’s Spotlight – Amber & Jaime’s OBX Takeover

  1. That’s our Kitty Hawker! Wonderful blog. Great Feelgoodz! So glad Feelgoodz will be on the OBX…..in our territory!

Tell Us What You Think!

